Ventura DUI Lawyer
You Only Have 10 Days to Act! Call (805) 727-4627 Today
Driving under the influence may be a common offense, but that does not mean it should be taken lightly. If you've been arrested for drunk driving, you can face a number of harsh penalties that threaten your personal, professional, and financial health. Depending on the circumstances, penalties can also be significantly enhanced. If you stand accused, our Ventura DUI attorneys at Lessem, Newstat & Tooson, LLP could make the difference in your case.
Why Lessem, Newstat & Tooson, LLP is qualified to handle your DUI case:
- Hundreds of Case Dismissals
- Award-Winning Legal Team
- 50+ Years of Combined Defense Experience
- Named to List of Southern California Super Lawyers®
- Representation in Criminal Court and DMV Hearings
- 24/7 Availability; FREE & Confidential Consultations
Representation for All DUI Charges
DUI charges and penalties can vary a great deal. Whether it's a first time offense, a multiple offense, or a serious felony, the penalties at stake are very real and can very much threaten your future. Our team of DUI attorneys in Ventura handle all DUI charges and matters, including:
Ventura County DUI Penalties
Ventura County is regarded as one of the toughest jurisdictions on drunk and drugged driving in the state of California. This means that if you stand accused of DUI, you can expect aggressive prosecution and serious criminal penalties. In addition, DUI convictions can result in numerous other consequences in your personal, professional, and financial life - including an impact on your ability to find gainful employment.
Every case is different, and the penalties you face will depend on the unique circumstances of your case - especially if you have prior DUI convictions. Still, you may face some of the following penalties and consequences if convicted of a DUI. Get defense from our DUI lawyers in Ventura County.
Misdemeanor DUI Penalties
Your first misdemeanor DUI is punishable by three to five years of informal probation, up to six months of incarceration in a county jail, a three or nine month alcohol education program, and six to ten months with a suspended driver's license. Additionally, you may have to pay a $390 to $1,000 fine. If you are unable to pay the fine, this penalty can be exchanged for 13 days in jail or 13 days of Cal-Trans roadside work.
Second DUI offenses are punishable by three to five years of summary (informal) probation and a minimum of 96 hours in a county jail. You may be sentenced to one year in a county jail, a fine between $390 and $1,000, an 18- to 30-month DUI education program, and two years of drivers' license suspension. After six months, you may be able to obtain a restricted drivers' license.
After your third DUI offense, the DMV may label you as a "habitual offender." You may be sentenced to between three years and five years of probation, between 120 days and one year in a county jail, and a $1,000 fine. You may also be required complete a 30-month, court-approved, drunk driving education program as well. Additionally, your driver's license may be revoked for three years.
Penalties for DUI with Injury (Felony & Misdemeanor)
DUI with injury may result in a felony or misdemeanor charge. If convicted of misdemeanor DUI with injury, you may be subject to the following penalties:
- Three to five years of informal probation
- Incarceration in a county jail for five days to one year
- A $390 to $1,000 fine
- An 18-month or 30-month alcohol program
- License restriction for one to three years
- Restitution for injured persons
Felony DUI is punishable by at least 16 months in a state prison. You may be sentenced to ten years in a California state prison with an additional six years of incarceration, depending on the severity and number of injuries. Felony DUI with injury is punishable by a $5,000 fine and 30-month alcohol program. The DMV may label you as a habitual traffic offender for three years and, like misdemeanor DUI with injury, you may be required to pay restitution to each person who suffered an injury.
If you have been accused of drunk driving, contact our Ventura DUI lawyers today for a FREE consultation!